Suite

Customer Reviews

All these reviews can be found on Trip Advisor, Freetobook, Laterooms and Google.

We love when we are reviewed. We hope these reviews help you choose Browns as a place to Eat, Drink or Sleep. if you have any questions please don't hesitate to call us. We would be delighted to hear from you.

June 2017 Freetobook Review

Very friendly and helpful staff who were attentive without being obtrusive. The suite was lovely. Will stay again, probably for my son's graduation from BRNC in December.

June 2017 Freetobook Review 

A delightful hotel, trendy and stylish. Lovely comfortable bed and room. Really tasty breakfast. Service and staff were excellent, super friendly and helpful. The tapas restaurant was divine. A really enjoyable stay.

May 2017 TripAdvisor Restaurant Review 

Sumptuous setting and very good grub. We shared marinated anchovies and manchego to start, followed by heritage tomato salad with labneh for me and Octopus for my OH. Lovely fresh ingredients, simply and deliciously prepared.

May 2017 TripAdvisor Restaurant Review 

Best scallops we had in Dartmouth. And they were local. Actually everything we ate was yummy. Nice range of gin and good wine list. House wine good as was the Viognier

May 2017 TripAdvisor Hotel Review

Stayed two nights here and really enjoyed the stay. It is really nicely decorated and set out making the most of the age of the property but ensuring modern comforts. Although parking is not available close by you can access a parking permit which then is usable elsewhere in South Devon when out and about visiting. Nice touch. Staff all really friendly and helpful.

May 2017 Freetobook Review 

From the moment we stepped into the hotel on our arrival we felt a very genuine welcome. The Deco was superb and our room nr. 3 was extremely comfortable.
The staff were excellent and so friendly.
Whenever we visit Dartmouth again there will be no need for us to look elsewhere to stay

May 2017 Freetobook Review

Booked last minute as arriving into Dartmouth on ferry. Welcome couldn't have been friendlier. The owner chatted to us about the Gin range and gave us ideas of where to go the next day. Decided to try the Tapas as smelt so good. Not disappointed was all tasty but the octopus was particularly fantastic. Service friendly and informal. Locals chatted to us. This really is a hidden gem. 

May 2017 Freetobook Review 

Nice location, very contemporary decor. Rooms well equipped. Fresh milk was a really nice touch. Staff very helpful & breakfast was great

May 2017 Freetobook Review

Beautiful room, really comfy and cosy. Staff were so helpful and really friendly

April 2017 TripAdvisor Review 

We were staying close by to this lovely Brasserie and popped in for brunch on Saturday afternoon......we realised once we looked at the menu that they only served food until 3pm, we had arrived at 3.05pm! The manager/owner and staff were so helpful, they said we could order anything we liked, they gave great advice on the wine list, and service was prompt. Nothing was too much trouble. The Chorizo Flatbreads were such a huge hit with the men in our party that they ordered a second helping (again the staff were more than happy to oblige). I would thoroughly recommend this modern bar and look forward to visiting again soon :)

April 2017 TripAdvisor Review 

We often visit Dartmouth. .and have always liked Brown's Hotel.. The new tapas theme in new cool and relaxed bar and eating area is v good. We had Octopus ..serrano croquettes .. chicken you can taste ...all very good...fair prices...all served by lee..ainsley. .and crew...along with boss James. .professional. .and fun..Highly recommended. .

April 2017 Freetobook Review 

Great hotel, lovely welcome, excellent room. We had a lovely stay."

April 2017 TripAdvisor Review 

I was recommended by a friend from Dartmouth who is also Gluten Free and it really didn't disappoint. I book in advance and the welcome was wonderfully helpful and friendly. The Tapas was exceptionally high quality and to say I could have eaten 2/3rds of the menu is definately a treat. We had 5 dishes but the Octopus remained my favourite.
It was lovely to see children enjoying themselves, so will bring the grand children next visit.
So if you have allergies head for this Restaurant the the serves as well as the chef are knowledgeable and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We will be back next time we are in the area. Thank you for a wonderful night out.

April 2017 TripAdvisor Review

Possibly not the most luxurious place in the area to stay, and it is quite a compact hotel with a pleasant restaurant specialising in Tapas.
Clean, functional with very friendly staff and a tariff to match. Free parking which is essential in Dartmouth and central for all the shops and restaurants.
Tip ploan your evening meals beforehand as the restaurant's do get very busy in season.

April 2017 Freetobook Review

Beautiful hotel in central Dartmouth the bedrooms were lovely everything we required.
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful - Ainsley is an asset to the hotel.
Breakfast cooked to order and delicious. Nice atmosphere in the evening in the bar/restaurant area - would use Browns again."

April 2017 Freetobook Review 

Browns is very comfortable, stylish hotel conveniently located in the centre of Dartmouth. We had lunch and breakfast at the hotel and both were excellent. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

March 2017 TripAdvisor Review 

We booked this thinking it was going to be a very much bigger hotel, but we obviously hadn't done our research properly! It only has 8 rooms and you can not book in a minute earlier than 2pm, but apart from that i can't fault it. 
The room we were in (No.07) was clean and was a good size. There is plenty of tea and coffee available outside your room as well as the usual left inside your room. The staff are friendly and efficient and try their best to accommodate you.
Browns is in the middle of Dartmouth and therefore in a brilliant position to reach the pubs, restaurants and shops. The staff gave us directions and an information sheet on Dartmouth Castle so we walked there as part of our first day. It's a comfortable mile there and mile back, and a pretty walk along the river.
There are other things to do in Dartmouth but we were only there a short time. We had a meal in the Royal Castle hotel which was lovely, with a log fire and that olde worlde feel.
I've never been to Dartmouth before, but can confirm that through this experience am likely to go again. I wouldn't mind staying in Browns hotel again too, as it was a pleasant stay and recommend it wholeheartedly.

March 2017 Freetobook Review

Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff - the best hotel staff we've ever encountered. Good breakfast. Great free room upgrade - spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished room

March 2017 Freetobook Review 

Staff super friendly and accommodating. The hotel is modern, clean, boutique style. The choice for breakfast is healthy and varied. Loose green tea and fresh coffee are a very welcoming touch. 
The hotel's location is excellent and having a parking permit in the heart of Dartmoor, just two minutes from the hotel, is an inspired idea."

February 2017 Tripadvisor Review

An absolute hidden gem in Dartmouth. Room was fabulous, bright and modern...classic pieces of furniture with a great little area with two cute chairs to sit and drink the wonderful loose leaf tea and fresh milk left for guests on the landing outside the rooms. Welcoming extremely helpful staff couldn't do enough and were happy to grab an ice bucket and champagne flutes for our room. Breakfast with several great choices, fresh local produce perfectly cooked. Would visit again and recommend to friends and family

February 2017 Freetobook Review

What a lovely experience staying at Brown's was for us. The hotel was just what you would expect from a family run concern. Particularly nice touches were the provision of a selection of loose leaf teas and coffee blends with real milk. The food in the restaurant (tapas) was excellent and the owner took time out to have a chat with us. Breakfasts also were of a very high quality and the whole place very much encouraged you into a "relaxed weekend" mood. Special mention has to be made of the service provided by the front of house staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Thanks!

February 2017 Freetobook Review 

Wonderful weekend very clean amazing staff. We also had tapas in bar/restaurant which was excellent. Can't recommend Browns enough

February 2017 Freetobook Review

This is the second time we have stayed with you & everything was just as wonderful as the first. Your staff are exceptional - a lovely mix of friendliness & efficiency. We really enjoyed the new Kichen Bar feel & enjoyed every single morsel that was delivered to our table.

Febuary 2017 Freetobook Review

Bright, cheery and friendly staff and excellent food.

January 2017 Freetobook Review

Outstanding staff, they couldn't be more helpful. Any request was immediately satisfied.
Excellent food-particularly on New Years Eve when it was superb.Friday evening tapas were a delight.
Will be interesting to see the Hotel after it's revamp, also the new bistro menu.

December 2016 TripAdvisor Review 

A really good place to stay. Staff really friendly and welcoming. Great breakfast and Irish coffees in the bar, best ever. Rooms are nicely kitted out with fresh looking decor, beds very comfortable, towels really soft and good bathroom toiletries supplied.

December 2016 Freetobook Review 

Very friendly helpful and informative staff especially the young lady who met us on arrival she is a great advert for the hotel
The room was very comfortable and clean with an excellent bathroom
Breakfast was lovely!

December 2016 TripAdvisor Review

We stayed at Browns before we went to watch our son pass out at the Royal Naval college and it did not disappoint a very warm welcome lovely comfortable room hearty freshly cooked breakfast and a great bar area to enjoy a night cap 
This was our second trip this hotel and we will definitely be back - the young lady who meets you and checks you in , serves breakfast and serves drinks behind the bar is fantastic and a great advert for Browns

December 2016 TripAdvisor Review

We stayed here with 2 of our friends for a 1 night bed and breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful, decor of a high modern standard, breakfast beautiful. On arrival in the bar we were offered free hot drinks and tapas which was great after the journey we had just endured!a One of the best nights sleep I've had in a hotel! Little things like a hot drinks station on the landing was great as it had fresh milk and decaf tea bags...thanks! We will definitely be recommending Browns

December 2016 Freetobook Review

Ainsley and Lee (think they are their right names) were absolutely wonderful hosts. Amazing. Without doubt we will be staying again.

December 2016 Freetobook Review

Brilliant front of house staff. Couldn't be more helpful or friendly. Very welcoming.

December 2016 Freetobook Review

Front of house Ainsley and Lee were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. They made us feel very welcome. The room was very comfortable (although the sloping floors were slightly unnerving - but all part of the charm!) would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It's handily placed just back from the harbour area. Parking is offered free in a nearby car park.,

December 2016 TripAdvisor Review

Stayed one night. We arrived early evening, the bar area was lively, friendly and welcoming. 
The staff made us feel at ease, welcomed us like we had arrived home.
We had a shared platter,champagne and gin. Lovely food and drink all very reasonably priced.
The room was spacious,warm, clean, relaxing. The mattress and duvet wrapped themselves around us - bliss.
Plenty of free tea, coffee, bottled water.
Breakfast was plentiful, tasty, enjoyable. I could have eaten more of the Greek yogurt -yummy, smooth, just the right consistency for my liking

December 2016 Freetobook Review

lovely stay . staff wonderful

December 2016 Freetobook Review

Fabulous as always! Had a 2 course dinner too and that was delicious. 

November 2016 Freetobook Review 

I have stayed here before, and will again! We missed James and Claire but Ainsley , Lee and the chef did not disappoint 

November 2016 Freetobook Review

Absolutely fantastic stay. We were in the suite, the bed was exceptionally comfy, the room beautifully made up and the bathroom even had a wine and book holder on the bath!
The gentleman who was working during our stay made the weekend for us...friendly, approachable and fun!
Would recommend to everyone

November 2016 TripAdvisor Review

Frequent visitor to Dartmouth but our first time at Browns. A super friendly, clean and convenient hotel. 
Cannot wait to stay again soon. 
Would recommend to couples as the perfect location :). 
Breakfast was superb and inclusive Coffee from the bar area during the day is a great touch.
The added benefit of a parking permit makes for stress free logistics in Dartmouth.

November 2016 Freetobook Review 

A perfectly located hotel in the heart of Dartmouth. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is delicious. 

November 2016 Freetobook Review 

Yes would definitely recommend

November 2016 Freetobook Review 

another excellent stay. Browns is a truly well run family hotel with excellent staff,lovely rooms.

November 2016 Freetobook Review 

Really enjoyed my stay at Browns - everything was just perfect! I had dinner there too and it was delicious- innovative flavours, fresh ingredients accompanied by super wines!

October 2016 Trip Advisor Hotel Review 

A little gem of a hotel which is which is conveniently tucked away from the main front area.Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.The staff are extremely helpful and only willing to help - a rare thing nowadays! We would definitely come back to stay should we be in the area.

October 2016 Trip Advisor Hotel Review 

Stayed at the Browns Hotel for two nights-Friday & Saturday in September. We had a street view room and were concerns about noise from the pub across the street. But double glazed windows cut the noise down to an acceptable level. Had their tapas plate for two and a very nice bottle of wine our first night in the library. The tapas plate was excellent for the price. There breakfast which is included with the room rate was very good with excellent choices. If back in Dartmouth I most likely would stay here again.

October 2016 Trip Advisor Review

Here for the food festival and they chose Browns for the Champagne tasting - staff were very friendly and although we didn't eat here, I would have no hesitation in trying it next time! It has the perfect ambience for a nice meal and is away from the main centre of Dartmouth - thanks to all there for an excellent Friday afternoon of champagnes!!

October 2016 Trip Advisor Review 

Fabulous fish night.Great wines and excellent service. Several types of very fresh fish chosen from the fishmonger and prepared by him then beautifully cooked

October 2016 Trip Advisor Review 

We were looking for somewhere to eat and drink prior to seeing some live music. We were lucky enough to get parked right outside, which for Dartmouth is quite a feat. The sharing platter and sides we ordered were beautifully presented and lived up to the excellent decor in the bar. Service was also friendly and efficient. The real winner though was the wine that was both delightful and very fairly priced. Highly recommended.

October 2016 Freetobook Review 

James, and his staff were very helpful, and went above, and beyond with their efforts to make us feel at home."

Tip:
"Browns has a very good restaurant, and there are a huge amount of bars, and bistro's with which to visit during your stay."

October 2016 Freetobook Review

Lee and Ainsley were brilliant and made our stay memorable.

October 2016 Freetobook Review

Lee and Ainslie were brilliant hosts and made our stay very enjoyable.

October 2016 Freetobook Review

A lovely hotel just off the town square which makes it quiet but ideally positioned to get everywhere in the town. Very friendly and helpful staff and great food. I will there again.

October 2016 Hotel TripAdvisor Review 

Booked Browns for a last minute get away - and luckily were allocated room 4- a well presented room to the front of the hotel. Very comfortable beds with crisp white linen - and some subtle designer touches ! 
Service standards here are excellent - from booking through to departure we were treated to superb attentive (but not intrusive) hospitality - with Lee and his team really working hard to deliver an outstanding guest experience.
The simple but beautifully cooked menu focuses on local produce - is keenly priced and fuses well with the extensive wine list - breakfast was great too - eggs are amazing - really good deeply coloured yolks !

October 2016 Freetobook Review 

Very comfortable bed, shower really good.All beautifully decorated.
Lovely breakfast. We enjoyed sitting in your bar enjoying a glass of wine before bed. Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere, thank you."

October 2016 Freetobook Review

Wonderfully welcoming attentive staff and beautifully kept place. The dinner menu needs more salad and greens. "

September 2016 Freetobook Review 

"Staff really helpful and welcoming, delicious local food, lovely clean, comfortable room. "

September 2016 Freetobook Review

Fab hotel lovely staff lovely part of the world what more could be said than prefect I will be going there again 

September 2016 Freetobook Review 

"A nicely located hotel just a monents walk finds you the river front, the bar bistro would be equally well placed in any respected establishment with an emphasis on sourcing local quality ingredients teamed with delivering an exceptional level of customer care and attention."

September2016 Freetobook Review 

"Fantastic stay. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.Room was of a high standard and very clean. So good we stayed another night!"

September 2016 Freetobook Review

"Thoroughly recommended, the staff couldn't do enough for us, especially Ainsley. Great location, with a short walk to anywhere in town and ferry."

September 2016 Freetobook Review

As I said in an earlier email - your style, both of facilities and delivery is just right.
The sort of service we got would cost a great deal more in London."

September 2016 Email 

Its partly the very nice furnishings – there is a lovely style here and the small details were very much appreciated.  But it was also the service .  Ainsley is a treasure – she looked after us extremely well, the bar ran well – the tapas on Friday was a smashing start to the weekend.  The breakfasts were also very good – here again the attention to detail – fresh eggs and bread for example made a great difference.  But everyone we met in the hotel went out of their way to make our stay very pleasing and enjoyable.

It was so nice to be looked after so well.

September 2016 Freetobook Review 

Staff brilliant. Excellent location and provided everything we needed.
Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone and agree with the Telegraph travel report which pointed me towards Browns initially

September 2016 Tripadvisor Hotel Review 

Modern hotel with classic touch. It is a boutique style hotel. We have stayed before and glad we returned. The service is excellent. ALL staff are only too happy to help with any aspect of your stay. Breakfast was simple but using quality, local food. Hotel is very centrally located such that you can park car and leave it there for a few days whilst you use train/ferries. We also had dinner there. Again excellent service. Fish papiette was cooked to perfection. Good choice of wines. 
Would definitely stay there again if in the area. 
Highly recommend without any reservations.

September 2016 Freetobook Review 

"Very much enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere and can-do attitude of the staff. The parking solution was helpful and the location ideal. Double glazing and leather curtains (!) ensured a good night's sleep. Fresh and tasty breakfasts."

September 2016 Freetobook Review 

"Ainsley is a star, she seemed to be on duty the whole time we were there and was always helpful and very pleasant."

September 2016 Freetobook Review 

"A lovely boutique hotel in every sense..great location, rooms and especially the staff. We will definitely be coming again. Excellent."

August 2016 Tripadvisor Restaurant Review 

Salad followed by lemon sole and topped off with the cheeseboard...heaven on a plate...my colleague and I couldn't believe we'd stumbled upon such a gem...

August 2016 Tripadvisor Hotel Review 

Stayed here for two nights with our 4 year old. Had the suite which was lovely. Spacious, modern but had the classic vintage charm which is just perfect. The staff are very passionate and actually want you to be happy which is a subtle but important difference. Breakfast was simple but just right. Water was always available which was fantastic during the heat. We also booked and had dinner one evening, and impressed with the food. Small menu but delicious. The seafood medley was perfectly cooked. The location was in the heart of it all. Literally a 5 minute walk and you're at the marina. Special thanks to Lee and the team, really made the time we spent there easy, relaxed and like spending time with friends. Cheers guys! Keep it up! Will definitely book here again if we ever venture down here in he future.

August 2016 Freetobook Review 

Your staff, in particular Lee and the young lady from Manchester, are the best possible advertisement for your hotel. They proved helpful, attentive, flexible and gave excellent service. Our thanks and congratulations to them.
The large selection of cuisine was attractively and well prepared. 

August 2016 Freetobook Review 

Great location and very warm welcome by the staff, the breakfast eggs are a treat in themselves. 

August 2016 Tripadvisor Hotel Review 

A two night stay with friends, the staff are great nothing is too much trouble, friendly and efficient. Saturday night meal in the restaurant excellent as were the breakfasts.
The hotel rooms are a little tired, and quite small.
Location great and although parking could potentially be a problem, the staff go out of their way to help.

August 2016 Freetobook Review 

Very friendly. Perfect breakfast. Perfectly located and all in all a wonderful stay

August 2016 Freetobook Review 

Very friendly. Perfect breakfast. Perfectly located and all in all a wonderful stay

August 2016 Freetobook Review 

Friendly people, excellent food and the "night-cap" open bottles are a great idea.

August 2016 Freetobook Review 

The best hotel we stayed in on a 7 day visit of England. Very clean and wonderful service

August 2016 Freetobook Review 

Great hotel in great location. Room lovely with nice comfy bed. Dinner in restaurant was excellent, as was the breakfast. Staff really good, Ainslie in particular is excellent, very helpful and nothing too much trouble. 

Tip:
"Hotel restaurant is excellent, had a great dinner there. Really nice wine list which is well priced. "

August 2016 Freetobook Review

"The location was super with the added bonus of a parking permit for the car parks. 
The bedroom (number 4 )was spacious, clean and comfortable. 
The restaurant was closed for our Monday - Weds visit but breakfast was tasty. The complimentary drinks in the bar in the evening was very thoughtful -,a delightful way to start and end the evening. The downstairs space is very relaxing and tastefully decorated.
The staff were all extremely friendly and pleasing their customers was clearly their number one priority! 

August 2016 Tripadvisor Hotel Review 

A couple of days in Dartmouth and we are really happy with our choice.
Comfortable room - big bed, (strange artwork), both shower and bath. Right in the centre of it all. Great location. 

The staff are what makes the place. Lee and team have been lovely. 
We ate in on our first night - lovely local fish as a main and salad with home made labneh as starter. My husband loved the wines.
For breakfast a treat to find homemade yoghurt and little fruit pots followed by very fresh eggs on toast. Great start to the day.
Thanks all. Would happily stay here again.

August 2016 Tripadvisor Hotel Review 

My wife and I spent a weekend here in June and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This boutique hotel is situated in Dartmouth town just a couple of hundred yards from the front where you can park your car for free with a permit available from the hotel.
We received late on a Friday night and were greeted with a warm welcome and tasty snack.
The rooms are cosy as you would expect from a 200 year old building but they are well equipped. Whilst there are tea and making facilities in the room on each there are a range of loose teas as well as ground coffee and cafetieres available outside the rooms to share.
Breakfast was delicious with a good choice of freshly prepared a local food.
All in all a great place to stay.

August 2016 Tripadvisor 

Booked this restaurant for a pre graduation evening meal due to the fact that they advertised Gluten free food and one of our party is coeliac. What a refreshing change to be told 'let us know what you would like and I'm check what we can do' Service was fantastic from Ainsley and Jade and the chef's were brilliant in tweaking dishes to our individual tastes. Well worth a visit and would 100% recommend !!

August 2016 Freetobook 

This was a last minute booking and we came up trumps! A lovely hotel with the added bonus of lovely staff. A real gem and we will definitely be back.

August 2016 Freetobook

Very comfortable and staff and owner excellent. Breakfast fantastic with all local produce used. Nice bar area. Communal areas stairs etc could do with a facelift but this wouldn't stop us staying again. Parking a bit of a nightmare even with pass as you still have to wait for a space but it is central Dartmouth!

August 2016 Tripadvisor 

Always good to visit when in Dartmouth with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere plus attentive service. Good home prepared and cooked food with a creative wine list put together by James Brown your knowledgeable host. Drink , Eat or both - you will not be disappointed.

July 2016 Freetobook

You made us very welcome and valued.We have already recommended you and look forward to our return.

July 2016 Freetobook

Warm and friendly staff. The owners are really welcoming and a font of knowledge which we found really useful we've been coming to Dartmouth for 20+ years the insight of someone local was great..

July 2016 Freetobook 

Very stylish hotel, bar and restaurant. Very nice, helpful front-of-house staff. Really good food.

July 2016 Tripadvisor 

I have been to Brown for drinks and tapas previously but this was the first time I have eaten a meal here. On previous visits I have got the impression that the owner cares passionately about the quality of his food and drink and this passion and care was very evident in our food and drinks, Everything was top notch great wine ,lovely service and fabulous food - the bill seemed very fair I would recommend Browns to anyone who enjoys great food and drink this was probably the best meal I've had in Dartmouth

July 2016 Freetobook

Great friendly & helpful staff.
A friendly charming hotel

July 2016 Freetobook

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your hotel.
The tapas on Friday evening was a treat, the meal in the restaurant was excellent.
We would have eaten there again on the Saturday but my partner Debbie only eats red meat and there was a limited choice on the menu.
Ainsley was cheerful, charming and helpful, and the other staff were very nice too. 

July 2016 Freetobook 

Lovely hotel, great food, friendly staff. This was our second visit and we would stay again. 

July 2016 Tripadvisor

We had a tapas meal at Browns last night and it couldn't have been a better experience. Such a friendly welcome with attentive, friendly and quick service. The food was delicious. There was also a lovely ambiance in the restaurant. Thank you to our lovely waitress and all the staff at Browns. We look forward to coming back again soon.

July 2016 Freetobook

very welcoming place we will be trying Browns first next time we are in Dartmouth

July 2016 Tripadvisor

Fantastic little boutique hotel right in the centre of Dartmouth. We had booked the suite which I recommend both for the size and space but the amenities and quality as well. James (the owner) was very welcoming on check in and throughout the stay, as was his wife (I forget her name, sorry!) Great wine and sherry selection with a tapas menu in the bar/restaurant. 
We enjoyed it so much that we have booked to stay in the same suite next July after our wedding in the town!

July 2016 Freetobook

Young vibrant and friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. 

July 2016 Freetobook

Browns made us feel very welcome, it was very personable, we felt very comfortable coming and going. Attention to the guest was 100%. Unpretentious. A thoroughly enjoyable stay. Thank you to all at Browns.

June 2016 Tripadvisor 

We stayed here for one night and from the minute we arrived to to the minute we left we were treated so nice! The room was perfect for our stay, very clean and comfy beds! Very nice touches with the complimentary waters and lovely tea and coffees! The breakfast was delicious and fresh. Parking was free just a short walk from the hotel! thanks again! We will be back!

June 2016 Tripadvisor

We were a table of 5 and were greeted by Ainsley who was brilliant the entire time. Great advice on wine, hilarious throughout ordering and just generally made the whole experience even better. 
The food was also lovely. We had the turbot and brill, the monkfish and the ribeye steak. All was cooked beautifully. The wine was also excellent. 
Would definitely return.

June 2016 Freetobook

VERY friendly and efficient staff
Excellent location right in centre of Town
Excellent food
Thank you for the upgrade!!!!

June 2016 Freetobook

Excellent hotel and food. Fab staff, especially Ainsley and Lucy, who couldn't have been more helpful. A great place to stay!

June 2016 Tripadvisor 

We visited Browns for an evening meal with the family. 
We were immediately welcomed by Ainsley and we were delighted to be led to a comfortable, modern, almost boutique style restaurant. 
The selection and quality of fish dishes and steaks were exactly what the family needed. 
The whole family loved their meal and enjoyed the care shown by Ainsley. 
Would highly recommend it

June 2016 Freetobook

This was our second stay at Browns and we will be coming again! We received warmth and friendship from our first introduction and Ainsley ensured that we were well cared for. Outstanding cuisine in the restaurant- we brought friends with us this time - the fish soup is exquisite. 

June 2016 Tripadvisor 

Fantastic little boutique hotel right in the centre of Dartmouth. We had booked the suite which I recommend both for the size and space but the amenities and quality as well. James (the owner) was very welcoming on check in and throughout the stay, as was his wife (I forget her name, sorry!) Great wine and sherry selection with a tapas menu in the bar/restaurant. 
We enjoyed it so much that we have booked to stay in the same suite next July after our wedding in the town!

June 2016 Freetobook

The staff at Browns went far above and beyond in their help for us. We had a difficult situation that we needed to resolve and their kindness and professionalism saved the day, and a good deal of tears! I can't recommend them highly enough, or thank them enough. A lovely setting, good food, luxurious and comfortable room and bath, together with exceptional staff made this a treasure of a hotel.

June 2016 Freetobook 

We had a lovely stay at Browns...
The staff were fantastic and the hotel was great- unique decor - very quirky! The brekkie was delicious - will be back to visit again. 

June 2016 Tripadvisor 

Situated in the centre of Dartmouth, Browns is friendly, comfortable and very hospitable.
The rooms are good, the food delicious and the service excellent.
They also provide free parking in the town car park so you can take a variety of boat trips on the Dart. Alternatively you can brave the narrow windy roads and explore the stunning scenery of south Devon. 
And there's lots to see and do in Dartmouth.

June 2016 Freetobook

Customer service outstanding. Lee and Ainsley were like a breathe of fresh air. Nothing was too much trouble and we had many a laugh. Loved the fact that there was tea and coffee on each landing, a very nice touch. Compliments also go to the chef, the food was delicious. When we mentioned we would like to go crabbing one of the cleaning ladies gave us all the equipment, again nothing was too much trouble. 

June 2016 Freetobook 

"Owners and staff made us feel very welcome and well looked after as soon as we arrived. 
Thank you"

May 2016 Freetobook

Quirky, refreshingly different, great staff, brilliant breakfast.

May 2016 Tripadvisor 

We recently enjoyed a memorable evening at Browns with a tasting menu, carefully and thoughtfully, put together by the owners, James and Clare. On arrival we were greeted with a Tio Pepe fino sherry which was a perfect accompaniment to the olives, padron peppers and Serrano ham. Mouth watering home smoked salmon and celeriac remoulade was next and then, a particular favourite with our group, was the “shot” of rich fish soup served with locally hand dived scallops and wild garlic foraged by the owner, James. Another big hit was the iberico pork shouder which served rare, utterly melted in your mouth. Each course was accompanied by perfectly chosen wines which James, knowledgably and enthusiastically, described the background and origins of. The full bodied red, which was served with the ribeye course, was described as utterly exquisite by one of our group. The portions were so perfectly proportioned that most of our party were able to end the evening with the chocolate fondant served with homemade icecream- delicious. A wonderful evening of gastro delights, in beautiful surroundings with perfect hosts. Would highly recommend.

May 2016 Freetobook

"We found Brown's to be a particularly comfortable hotel. The breakfasts were excellent and as non meat eaters the staff went out of their way to provide vegetarian options. Our room ( number 3) was very comfortable.Lovely soft pillows meant I slept well. Great lighting in the bathroom, a powerful shower and the extra mirror behind the bathroom cabinet door were all real pluses. All the little extras, tissues in room,tea making facilities with fresh milk and a glass of Bailey's at bedtime really make Brown's stand out. Well Done.

May 2016 Freetobook

Very friendly and helpful staff - nothing was too much trouble. Spotless rooms and an amazingly comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and the evening meal was excellent. The staff were very knowledgable about local attractions and happy to look things up. 

May 2016 Freetobook 

"Very comfortable and well presented hotel with very interesting decor and Scandinavian furniture. The free drinks of wine before dinner meant that guests met and talked which often isn't the case. A nice touch appreciated by all."

May 2016 Freetobook

"Room (3) was lovely, staff were wonderful, evening meal was fabulous and the breakfasts were great. Will come again.Overall the stay was a perfect gift for my wife's birthday. Thank you."

"Eat at the bistro if possible, it's very good. The Totness river cruise is excellent. Take your car across to Kingswear on the Lower car ferry, great fun."

May 2016 Freetobook

"Nice room,excellent tapas and a interesting wine list. Staff very helpful and attentive"

May 2016 Trip Advisor Hotel Review

This hotel was recommended to us. A great recommendation, right from stepping through the door we had a great welcome from Lee. This hotel has a lot of little extras that are not given by other hotels.

Staff can't do enough. Breakfast soooo yummy! 
We would definitely recommend this hotel and if we decide to visit Dartmouth again this will be the hotel we would choose.

May 2016 Trip Advisor Hotel Review 

We were sad to leave Brown's after being made very welcome and comfortable for a 2 night stay. If like me you are not a fan of hotel chains then you will love Brown's - particularly the service. Everybody is very welcoming and simply cannot do enough for you. We stayed in room 8 (The Suite) which is a large room with a comfy sofa and huge bed and a fabulous bathroom. There is a slight incline in the floor which makes you wonder whether you have had one too many sips of the complimentary drinks behind the bar before heading for bed but just adds to the character of the place once you get used to it. The room wasn't cheap but it is all inclusive including breakfast, parking, teas and coffees during the day, and a nightcap (serve yourself on the nights we stayed) so actually it all adds up to being good value. We can't wait to go back.

May 2016 Trip Advisor Hotel Review 

Have just returned from an excellent two night stay at Brown's Hotel as an early birthday celebration for my partner. We were upgraded on our arrival by Lee, and I must say all the staff are fantastic and really make the experience special. The rooms are spotlessly clean, modern and comfortable, breakfasts superb and the meal in the restaurant on Saturday evening very good. The hotel also has a great little bar which although not busy during our stay has a great atmosphere!

Would highly recommend it as a base for anyone wanting to visit Dartmouth and the surrounding areas.

May 2016 Google Review

Comfortable and stylish rooms, we were upgraded to a superior room and it was plenty of space for a long weekend away. I had some study to do so was pleased for a small desk for my computer and books Great breakfasts with lots of choice - home smoked bacon and salmon were both out of this world Nice touches were free tapas on a Friday evening which drew in a local crowd and free aperitifs on Sunday for residents as the restaurant was closed.We ate here on Friday night and a bar snack on Saturday evening (after a big Riverford lunch also to be recommended) and both were superb. The wine selection was very good.

The owners are knowledgeable around the area and have no end of recommendations for things to do.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble to make our stay a good one.

We would thoroughly recommend a stay at Browns!

April 2016 Tripadvisor 

We had gone as a group of 4 to enjoy a meal and Browns was definitely our first choice in Dartmouth. We were given a variety of small meals each with it's own wine which complimented the food so well. The owner provided a really interesting history to all the foods and made the meal feel very personal. The place also had a very contemporary ambience to it. Would love to return.

April  2016 Freetobook

'Such a lovely hotel, with friendly helpful staff. They ensured we had a lovely stay and were helpful with what to do and where to eat etc. Just generally lovely people.
The breakfast was was excellent, and the times of breakfast suited early and late risers.
Would highly recommend this place. Had a lovely relaxed stay'

April 2016 Tripadvisor hotel review

Stayed for 2 nights to celebrate a birthday. Had a lovely welcome from Ainsley who explained everything we needed to know whilst keeping lookout for the super efficient parking wardens.We stayed in Room 4 [comfortable room] on the first floor at the front of the building. Small but absolutely spotless with a view of the street (and into function room of Conservative Club!)Hotel is also a restaurant and wine bar with a chic modern feel. Restaurant was fully booked on our first night so we ate elsewhere. Returned later and found bar still buzzing.Had a great nights sleep and didn't hear any noise from the bar below or any other guests coming back. We had a lovely breakfast next morning served by Ainsley who has the knack of knowing how to chat and yet still be working. We ate in the restaurant on our last night and what a lovely experience it was. Good food and great service (Ainsley again with Lee behind the bar)Overall a small very friendly hotel ideally situated for access to most that goes on in Dartmouth.

April 2016 Tripadvisor hotel review

We've stayed here several times over the years so happy to return. They still get all the essentials right (clean, comfortable, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, newspapers) plus loads of stylish touches. Plus its reasonably priced which always helps.

April 2016 Trip Advisor restaurant review

We had gone as a group of 4 to enjoy a meal and Browns was definitely our first choice in Dartmouth. We were given a variety of small meals each with it's own wine which complimented the food so well. The owner provided a really interesting history to all the foods and made the meal feel very personal. The place also had a very contemporary ambience to it. Would love to return.

April 2016 Freetobook

Excellent location with a warm and friendly staff. Rooms a very good size with wonderfully comfortable beds. Breakfast was a pleasure and the Luscombe sausages were excellent.

April 2016 Trip Advisor restaurant review

I am gluten free and struggle when eating out at many restaurants. Either few options are available or you don't have confidence in their assurance that meals are gluten free. If you're gluten free you'll understand this. However at Browns I always know I am in safe hands. Many options are naturally gluten free simply because they serve high quality freshly cooked food served with local ingredients - and others can be adapted. Most importantly they always remember I am gluten free and I have complete confidence that my meal is ... If you are gluten free you know this experience is like gold dust. 

More broadly - Excellent choice of dishes - have never had a bad choice. Must tries are the scallops or fish or if you want something lighter - the deli board. And definitely the ice cream (best smothered in alcohol and coffee). 

They have also started doing fantastic gins ... 

Finally you will always feel welcome at Browns. Unlike some restaurants that just serve beautiful food, Browns will provide beautiful food alongside a great ambience. Special thanks to Lee and Ainsley who always make the evening an enjoyable experience. The place would be lost without them.

April 2016 Freetobook 

Not a great lover of large hotels as they can be slightly impersonal. Browns hotel is ideally situated and sized. Most memorable thing was meeting Ainsley. What an asset to your company. Nothing was to much trouble with a lovely bubbly personality. Will definitely stay again and would not hesitate to recommend to friends.

April 2016 Google

Really lovely food and wine selection. The owner, James, provided a riveting account of the history of the wine we were drinking. The place had a very nice contemporary atmosphere. Would definitely go back!

April 2016  Freetobook

Staff wonderful, especially Ainsley and Lee. Food terrific - loved the tapas on Friday!

April  2016 Freetobook 

Great hotel located just a few doors down from the quay. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The hosts are very friendly, and the free car-parking a real bonus in such a busy town.

April 2016 Trip Advisor hotel review

Dartmouth has got to be the best town along the south coast and Browns is the best for value for money in this town. 
Its greatest asset is the staff. They literally cannot do enough for you; from carrying two heavy bags up three flights of stairs on arrival; preparing excellent kippers for breakfast; providing complimentary drinks in the lounge in the evening; upgrading to an even better room if possible; and talking about the football results in the morning in a positive way - even if you've lost!!
Just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Browns has the lot. The complimentary free parking voucher provided on arrival is a real asset and covers many car parks in the area, but not Brixton. 
The restaurant was open in the evening from Wednesday, but that didn't present a problem for us as there were many good restaurants in the town within a few minutes walk from the hotel.
The room was very well maintained with a new bathroom.
Give it a try. It really is good value for money and good fun.

April 2016 Trip Advisor hotel review

We stayed at Browns for 2 nights in March and it was exceptionally good. The hotel is ancient though you won't notice that in the facilities and service which are top class for a hotel of this vintage. The staff were very welcoming and the breakfasts are amazing. We will certainly return.